Other Names For Gluten

Welcome!

This is the place you want to start your journey. If you’re going to go gluten free, you need to know what to watch out for. Here is a quick and easy to read list of the other names for gluten.

click here to go to the latest gluten free recipes and tips.

other names for gluten Follow Me on Pinterest

Other Names For Gluten

Is this gluten free? Are you sure? Gluten is a protein found in some grains, wheat, barley and rye are most notable. Gluten can hide under pseudonyms, some are just other names for flour, some are ingredients made from gluten containing grains. Watch out for these:

Products Typically Made From Wheat

Unless these are specifically labeled “gluten free” or in the case of tortillas “corn tortillas” these products are typically made with wheat flour and contain gluten. Some corn tortillas will contain wheat flour, so always check the label.

  • Bread
  • Pasta
  • All purpose flour
  • Flour
  • Flour Tortillas
  • Matzo
  • Pita bread
  • Couscous (just a really small pasta)
  • Cake
  • Pie crust
  • Muffins
  • Other baked goods and pastries

Products Typically Made From Barley

Many varieties of alcohol are made with barley. If you’re going to imbibe, stick with a gluten free beer brand, vodka or rum. And never, ever, ever, get malt in your milkshake.

  • Malt
  • Malt Vinegar
  • Beer
  • Whiskey
  • Scotch
  • Whoppers Malt Milk Balls

Grains and Flours That Contain Gluten

  • Wheat
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Spelt
  • Bran
  • Flour
  • Graham flour
  • Farina
  • Durum
  • Semolina

Other Names That May Mean Gluten

These aren’t always made from wheat, but unless you can confirm with the manufacturer that it’s gluten free, avoid these.

  • Glucose
  • Vitamin E (sometimes derived from wheat germ, even in beauty products)
  • Modified food starch
  • Tocopheryls (this means Vitamin E)
  • Natural Flavors (sometimes made from barley, especially in caramel)
  • Hydrolized Vegetable Protein (in many vegetarian meat replacements and shampoo)

These are the most common. You can find a really complete list here: http://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsafe-Gluten-Free-Food-List-Unsafe-Ingredients/Page1.html

A Note About Vinegar

White vinegar can be made from wheat. Some people are okay eating it, but with all the alternatives out there (rice vinegar, balsamic vinegar, white wine vinegar) you don’t need to.

A Note About Oats

Are Oats Gluten Free? Oats do contain a protein similar to gluten, but not exactly the same, so whether you can eat oats really depends on your body. Some people with gluten sensitivity or celiac disease see their symptoms return when they eat oats. Sometimes this is caused by cross contamination during production, sometimes it’s a sensitivity to the protein in oats. If you’re going to eat oats, I recommend a certified gluten free variety like Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Oats.Personally, I can’t eat oats, so you’ll never find a recipe here that uses them.

Next Steps

I’ve put together a quick and easy list of foods that are naturally gluten free and I’m usually about three or four posts behind in updating it, but there is a well organized recipe index to help you get around this site or click here to go to the latest gluten free recipes and tips.

Let me know how I can improve this site to help you on your gluten-free journey. The best ways to do that are to leave a comment or to drop me a line on twitter or visit me on Google+

One thought on “Other Names For Gluten

  1. Pingback: Warning, Your Gluten Free Food Might NOT Be Celiac Safe | know gluten

Leave a Reply