Before we get started with this list, a little disclaimer. Always, always, always, always, always read the label on any processed or packaged food. Always. Even food that you are sure is gluten free. Too often I’ve bought something while being distracted by little people and gotten it home and discovered that the company had changed the formula and it now contained something with gluten. If you aren’t sure what to look for, stick with brands that clearly label their products with “gluten free” or click here to check out a list of ingredients that contain gluten.
The list below consists mostly of naturally gluten free foods.
A List of Gluten Free Foods YOU Can Eat
All Fruit – for example:
- canned peaches
- apple sauce
- dried apricots
All Vegetables – for example:
- green and bell peppers
- broccoli and cauliflower
- squash and pumpkin
- all types of lettuce
Many Condiments – for example:
- Fish Sauce
- Gluten Free soy sauce
- Salad dressings labeled gluten free
- Salt and Pepper
All Unprocessed Meat that you season and cook yourself – for example:
- Most ham
- Most bacon
- Sausages labeled Gluten Free
- Hebrew National hot dogs
* Note: Processed meats like hot dogs and deli meat might contain gluten.
*Note: Some seasonings and sauces used on meat may contain gluten
*Note: Check the label on your bacon and ham. Many will actually say “gluten free”
Many Dairy Products – for expample:
- Many types of yoghurt
- Many types of ice cream
- Most brands of cottage cheese.
*Note: Some Blue Cheese contains bread mold and is not gluten free
*Note: Check the label on your yoghurt, some contain gluten. Avoid yoghurt with added fiber and or Muesli.
*Note: No cookie dough or cake batter ice cream. Always read the label. Breyers Vanilla and Strawberry are good bets.
Gluten Free Products – for example:
- Uldi’s Gluten Free bread and hamburger Buns
- Glutino Gluten Free crackers and cookies
- Gluten Free cake mixes
- Gluten Free Bisquick
- Glutenfreeda’s Burritos
- Amys Kitchen Gluten Free products (over 100!)
Side Dishes that don’t contain gluten – for example:
- Plain white rice
- Gluten Free pasta
- Rice stick noodles from an Asian grocery
- Corn tortillas
- Bush’s vegetarian baked beans
- Plain canned or dried beans
*Note: Avoid instant mashed potatoes or potato flakes, some contain wheat.
*Note: Check the label on the corn tortillas. Corn is fine to eat, but avoid those that contain wheat or both corn and wheat.
Unseasoned Nuts and Nut Spreads – for example:
- Peanut Butter
- NUTELLA (yes, Nutella!)
- Almond Butter
*Note: Check the labels on nuts, you want to stick with those that are either plain or just salted. Avoid other seasonings until you figure out all the names gluten might be hiding under
Some Snack Foods (always read the label for these) – for example:
- Corn tortilla chips
Gluten Free Cereals – for example:
- Many varieties of Chex cereal (it will say GLUTEN FREE on the box)
- Gluten Free Rice Krispies
- Fruity Pebbles
- Gluten free cornflakes
Thanks for visiting! I’d love to connect!