A list of gluten free foods you can eat from know gluten. me
Getting Started,  Go Gluten Free,  Tips,  Tips to Help You Go Gluten Free,  Top Tips

A List of Gluten Free Foods You Can Eat

You’re just getting started with a gluten free diet and you need a list of gluten free foods you can eat. You might be feeling a little overwhelmed. Or maybe someone has just told you that there is “gluten in everything.” Don’t worry. There’s still lots to eat!

What is Gluten?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, spelt, and barley. It is used to make flour, bread, pasta, and baked goods. It’s also sometimes used as a filler or thickener in processed foods or seasonings or in some flavorings. It is in a lot of things, but thankfully, it isn’t in everything.

If you’re not sure what to avoid on an ingredient label, click here for Other Names For Gluten

A List of Gluten Free Foods

 Below you will find examples of gluten free foods you can eat. This is by no means a complete list. If you get overwhelmed, I’ve included a printable list at the end of this post so you can take it to the store.

Scroll down for a printable list to take to the store.

pictures of fruit

Fruit is Naturally Gluten Free

All fruit is naturally gluten free. Grab and apple or a banana for a quick snack, or make a fruit salad for a lovely after dinner treat. I have a fruit smoothie for breakfast almost every day in the summer. This list includes fresh fruit. If you buy frozen, canned, or other packaged fruit, check the label for added ingredients that may contain gluten.

  • apples
  • oranges
  • grapes
  • bananas
  • grapefruit
  • mangoes
  • canned peaches
  • apple sauce
  • dried apricots
  • raisins

Vegetables are Naturally Gluten Free

All vegetables are gluten free. The produce section is the easiest place to shop in the grocery store. This list includes all fresh, unseasoned vegetables. Always read the label if you buy frozen, canned, or other processed vegetables. You don’t have to stop at salad. Throw some gluten free alfredo sauce on spaghetti squash, or make some easy potato tacos out of gluten free frozen French fries.

  • tomatoes
  • green and bell peppers
  • mushrooms
  • potatoes
  • corn
  • broccoli and cauliflower
  • squash and pumpkin
  • zucchini
  • all types of lettuce
  • cabbage
a farmer standing beside boxes of vegetables

Many Condiments are Gluten Free

Many of the condiments you already use are gluten free. Some are naturally gluten free, and some have gluten free options. Always check labels on processed foods to make sure they don’t contain gluten.

  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Mayonnaise
  • Fish Sauce
  • Gluten Free soy sauce
  • Relish
  • Salad dressings labeled gluten free or made without gluten ingredients
  • Salt and Pepper

You don’t necessarily have to buy products that say “gluten free” on the label. Click here to read why.

Unprocessed Unseasoned Meat is Gluten Free

Unprocessed unseasoned meat is naturally gluten free. Watch for gluten when you’re buying processed meats or meat that already has sauce on it. Some companies use gluten ingredients in their fillers, sauces, or seasonings.

  • Chicken
  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Fish
  • Eggs
  • Most ham
  • Most bacon
  • Sausages labeled Gluten Free
  • Hebrew National hot dogs

If you need help reading labels, you can click here for a list of Other Names for Gluten

line drawings of types of meat

Many Dairy Products are Gluten Free

Dairy products are naturally gluten free, but that doesn’t mean that a stroll down the milk and cheese aisle is without danger! Some companies add gluten ingredients to their dairy products. Avoid yogurt or other packaged dairy with cereal or cookies on top or added fiber mixed in. Some ice cream flavors contain gluten in the add-ins like cake batter or cookie dough. When you’re shopping for dairy products, always read the label. But don’t be discouraged! There’s still lots of gluten free food in the dairy section!

  • Milk
  • Cheese
  • Many types of yoghurt
  • Many types of ice cream
  • Butter
  • Most brands of cottage cheese.

Specialty Gluten Free Products

There is now a huge market for specialty gluten free products. In fact Nabisco just came out with Gluten Free Oreos! Because these products are made to be gluten free, they’re usually made in a gluten free facility. Some brands are great, some, not so great. But it’s worth sampling to find your favorites

  • Uldi’s Gluten Free bread and hamburger Buns
  • Glutino Gluten Free crackers and cookies
  • Gluten Free cake mixes
  • Gluten Free Bisquick
  • Glutenfreeda’s Burritos
  • Amys Kitchen Gluten Free products (over 100!)

Many Pantry Items are Gluten Free

You probably already have many naturally gluten free items in your pantry. Any unprocessed grain or legume besides wheat, spelt, rye, or barley, is naturally gluten free. (Oats may be contaminated with gluten, so if you buy oats, make sure you buy oats labeled gluten free.) For more processed foods, always read the label to avoid gluten ingredients.

  • Plain white rice
  • Polenta
  • Grits
  • Rice stick noodles from an Asian grocery
  • Corn tortillas
  • Bush’s vegetarian baked beans
  • Plain canned or dried beans
  • Quinoa
  • Instant mashed potatoes

Unseasoned Nuts and Nut Spreads are Gluten Free

Plain and salted nuts and nut butters without added flavors are naturally gluten free. Some companies even go the extra mile and label their products gluten free. When you’re buying packaged food, always read the label for gluten ingredients. I have yet to see nut butter with added gluten, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t out there! And some nut seasonings do contain wheat. A note here: If you share a kitchen with gluten-eaters, make sure you have your own jar of nut butter. The crumbs from gluten bread and toast can get in the jar and that makes it not gluten free anymore.

  • Almonds
  • Peanuts
  • Cashews
  • Pistachios
  • Peanut Butter
  • NUTELLA (yes, Nutella!)
  • Almond Butter
a jar of peanut butter and some nuts

Some Snack Foods are Gluten Free

Some of your favorite snack food is naturally gluten free! In fact some companies, like Frito Lay go out of the their way to cater to the gluten free crowd. As always though, read ingredients when buying packaged food.

  • Popcorn
  • Corn tortilla chips
  • Many potato chips

Some Cereals are Gluten Free

Gluten free cereal is my very favorite packaged product to shop for because the boxes are very clearly labeled GLUTEN FREE. Plus, I could pretty much live on cereal if I had just a little less willpower. Gluten free has gone mainstream enough that gluten free cereals are usually with the other cereals. My favorite brands are Chex and Malt o’ Meal (the cereal in the bag)

  • Many varieties of Chex cereal (it will say GLUTEN FREE on the box)
  • Gluten Free Rice Krispies
  • Fruity Pebbles
  • Gluten free cornflakes

A Printable List of Gluten Free Foods

Click HERE for a printable list to take shopping or put on the fridge.

more from know gluten 700x200

Gluten Free Meal Planning Resources That Are Absolutely Free! - knowgluten.me
Click the picture to find great meal planning resources!

Hey Friend! I'm so glad you dropped by! I'm Jodi, I'm a wife, mom of four, homeschooler and world traveler. I've been gluten free for almost 20 years and I share tips and recipes especially for gluten free beginners on knowgluten.me